Frozen at the Hyperion Theater

So I got the pleasure of being able to see the new Musical Spectacular at the Hyperion Theater in Disney’s California Adventure.

Before I get to the actual show itself, let us talk about what you will need to do before you actually see the show.

The show operates mostly on a FastPass system which was introduced for the Aladdin show before it departed earlier this year. If you want to see this show and guarantee yourself a spot to see the show, you need to get to the park when the park opens, and wait in the long line which starts by the Monsters Inc. ride in the Backlot. I waited only about ten minutes to get my FastPass before continuing my visit at the resort.

Getting back for my FastPass at the time of the show, there isn’t much of a system in place yet for the FastPasses due to the fact the return was out into the middle of Hollywood Backlot. As we move on, there will probably be a way for the system to be fixed, but it was also opening weekend, so there was that as well.

As for the show, it was a decent show. The way I see it, it was basically if you were watching the movie almost scene for scene but live on stage. It wasn’t bad, but it was just very much like the movie, with no real originality to the story or new ways to refreshen the Β concept of the movie.

I don’t want to spoil anything, but the projections they used were simply amazing, as well as the “Let It Go” sequence was breathtaking. The puppets were awesome, and the actresses were amazing singers.

Like I said, I don’t want to spoil anything, but I would definitely suggest seeing the show at least once, even if you are upset about the change from Aladdin to Frozen.

If you’ve seen the show, what was your favorite part?

Leave a Reply

