Finding Dory: A Review

I got to see our shining star DORY come back to the big screen today and I have to tell you all about it!

THIS WILL BE SPOILER FILLED, SO BE WARNED NOW

Looking at the beginning of this movie, I never really had the emotional tug that everyone had for Up, but I have to tell you, the first ten minutes of this movie almost had me tearing up in the theater. Perhaps it’s my own relation to Dory (not the memory loss) that caused the emotions, but still, I couldn’t help but feel so bad for Dory that it hurt.

I loved the flashbacks that we get of young Dory. Baby Dory is perhaps the cutest thing I have ever seen or will ever see. I loved the actress who played her and what they did. It was the cutest thing ever.

Now, as for the characters in the movie, I honestly think we could have dealt without their separate story lines. I didn’t feel as connected to them as I did for Dory, Marlin, Nemo, and the other members of the case from the first film. It felt that they were trying so hard to bring those types of characters back, especially using Hank as the Gil of this story.

But! It still had a lot of heart, and a lot of love that went into this movie. You can tell they were trying to honor the fans by giving some guest appearances like Squirt and Crush, but I am glad they didn’t lurk on them too long and gave way to Dory and her story (tee hee that rhymed).

Anyways! The big thing that I want to talk about is the fact that in these movies specifically they deal with mental illness. This is an issue that many have not talked about and they have not used in a way that creates positivity. I think these two movies, but Finding Dory specifically, makes mental illness something that people can cope with and that they can be an integral part of society. While Marlin does seem to make her feel bad about her illness, there is actually a big message that her father, Nemo, and eventually Marlin tell Dory toward the end of the story. It is because of Dory’s illness and her capability to cope with her illness that allowed her to do what she wants to do. She does not let that stop her from achieving what she wants and what she needs. She understands her illness and even asks others for help, which many people with an illness struggle with on a daily basis, but when they search for stable support, it’s important to keep it going for them.

I really enjoyed this movie, and am glad I got the chance to see it. I give it an 8/10 Dory’s.

If you’ve seen the film, what was your favorite part of the film and why?

Leave a Reply

